International Writers' Workshop NZ International Writers' Workshop NZ Inc

Auckland, New Zealand

Notice Board and External Competitions

On this page you will find ..

About IWW

The International Writers’ Workshop was formed in 1976 by Barbara B Whyte, noted New Zealand Poet and Writer. We are 'International' in that our multi-cultural national membership is diverse, and ages range from school to retirement. Anyone at all interested in any aspect of writing is welcome.

Aiming to foster and encourage would-be writers, the Workshop caters for those who wish to express themselves confidently and professionally by writing, whether it be a letter to the local newspaper, or placing a manuscript for publication.

Jocelyn Grattan Bequest

International Writers' Workshop is the fortunate recipient of a generous and ongoing bequest by an Auckland woman Jocelyn Grattan who died in 2007.

Jocelyn, who was the daughter of well-known Aucklander's Frank and Kathleen Grattan, was many years ago a sub editor of New Zealand Woman’s Weekly.

It was a specific request of Jocelyn that her mother, Kathleen, be recognised through an annual competition in recognition of her love for poetry and that the competition be for a sequence or cycle of poems with no limit on the length of the poems. This is to be known as The Kathleen Grattan Prize for a Sequence of Poems and is to be competed for annually.

Jocelyn’s trustees advise that 80% of the bequest may be used for the general purposes of the workshop (that is payment of rent, guest speakers, judges etc) and 20% is to be allocated as prize money (First Prize award only).

The Kathleen Grattan Prize for a Sequence of Poems is now sometimes referred to as the 'Little Grattan' as the Jocelyn Grattan Charitable Trust also funds the biennial Kathleen Grattan Award, run by Landfall / Otago University Press.

As well as The Kathleen Grattan Prize for a Sequence of Poems, IWW will run two additional competitions in honour of Jocelyn Grattan when funds allow. These are:

    The Jocelyn Grattan Prize for Creative Non-ficton.
    The Jocelyn Grattan Prize for Fiction.
IWW competitions are for members only. See our competitions page for more details.

IWW produced Beyond the Persimmon Tree, an Anthology of members work in 2010. The generous Grattan Bequest enabled us to do this.

Our 40th jubilee history book, Those be Rubies, published November 2016, was also assisted by the Jocelyn Grattan Chaitable Trust.

External Competitions 2018

South Island Writers’ Association National Competition 2018
Short Stories up to 3000 words and Flash Fiction up to 300 words. Entry Fee and Prizes.
Closes 1 Feb 2018.
Details and Entry Form:

Sculpture in the Gardens at the Auckland Botanic Gardens
Let the sculptures inspire your original short story (up to 1000 words) or poem. Free to enter.
Closes 5pm 11 February 2018.
Details and Entry Form:

Cambridge Autumn Festival Short Story Competition
Must start with: "There was a knock on the door". Up to 1500 words. Free entry. First prize $1000.
Closes 23 February 2018. Details and Entry Form:

NZ Book Festival Manuscript Competition for Writers
A new writing competition for NZ authors who are writing a book and wish to publish it independently to a professional level.
Closes 28 February 2018.

Page and Blackmore Short Story Competition
Up to 1500 words. Short listed entries receive an assessment from judge Catherine Chidgey. Entry Fee and prizes. Closes 3 April 2018.
Details and Entry Form:

MindFood Short Story Competition
Winning story published in Mindfood magazine. Announced in the November 2017 issue of MindFood.
Details and Entry Form:

For more external competitions check out